What Did I Say?

Previous post from February 10, 2013.

Then I said, “Ah, Lord God! Behold, I do not know how to speak, for I am only a youth.” But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am only a youth’; for to all to whom I send you, you shall go, and whatever I command you, you shall speak. Don not be afraid of them, for I am with you to deliver you, declares the Lord.” Then the Lord put out his hand and touched my mouth. And the Lord said to me, “Behold, I have put my words in your mouth.”

Jeremiah 1:6-9 (ESV)

This week I borrowed some thoughts from another devotional that I have read and still read, Igniting Faith In 40 Days by Steve and Wendy Backlund (ideas taken directly from this devotional will be in italics). Great read should you ever get a chance to read it, you’ll be deeply impacted.

We know that our words have power and it’s very necessary to use our words to help guide our lives. The person who says “I can” and the person who says “I can’t” are both right. However, it is pride masked as humility that says, “I cannot” or “I am unworthy” when God has said you can and you are worthy.

Now is the time for us to take another look at what we speak, especially when we declare what we think we cannot do. Our words are either a rudder to direct our lives unto God’s prophetic will or a curse that puts fences around our potential. We must believe before we see (not the other way around). One of the main truths we are to believe is Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ that strengthens me!”

Faith is spelled R-I-S-K! We won’t have something just because we say it, but having it demands that we declare it first. Nothing in the kingdom happens without it first being declared. Speak it, then take a risk and do it.

Weightlifters build muscles by pressing against resistance. Faith muscle is increased the same way by pressing against old thought patterns.

Declaration: I renounce every curse I have spoken over my life through declarations of what I thought I could not do. I will not limit God, but will release Him by joining the Apostle Paul’s positive declaration in saying “I CAN!”

Leave a Reply

